20 Undergraduate Changemakers Selected for Scholarship Program Connecting Arts and Sciences Students with Public Sector Pathways

Washington, D.C. May 6, 2024 – The Phi Beta Kappa Society, the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society and a leading national advocate for the value of a liberal arts and sciences education, announces today the 2024 recipients of its Key into Public Service scholarship program in celebration of Public Service Recognition Week.  Drawing inspiration from many notable Phi Beta Kappa members who have shaped the course of the country, the program recognizes 20 exceptional liberal arts and sciences students with a demonstrated interest in pursuing careers in local, state, and federal government.

Alumni of the program, now in its fifth year, have earned prestigious honors including Rhodes Scholarships, Truman Scholarships, Fulbright Scholarships, NAACP Marshall-Motley Scholars and more. The Society’s Key into Public Service program cultivates the next generation of public service leaders at a critical time. Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics reveals that 31 percent of current government employees will become eligible to retire next year.

Chosen from over 700 applicants attending Phi Beta Kappa chapter institutions across the nation, the 2024 Key into Public Service Scholars hail from 16 states. These rising college juniors and seniors display notable breadth and depth across the arts and sciences in pursuit of their studies ranging from a double major in Econometrics and International Studies to a triple major in Political Science, Constitutional Democracy, and Religious Studies. Their career aspirations are just as diverse, ranging from Chief Medical Director for Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Programs to an attorney at the National Labor Relations Board.

“Since 1776, the Society has firmly stood for the principle that education in the liberal arts and sciences is essential for our democracy,” Phi Beta Kappa Secretary and CEO Frederick M. Lawrence remarked. “As we recognize the Class of 2024 Key into Public Service Scholars for their academic excellence, civic dedication, and service to others, we know the impact of this program will extend far beyond monetary awards. They will receive guidance and support to navigate the complexities of governance with wisdom, integrity, and dedication to the greater good.”

The Society congratulates the following exceptional students, their families, and chapter institutions:

Rebecca Cortes, Fordham University
Drew Dahlgren, University of Missouri
Jacquelyn Dal Bon, Drew University
Mollie Duffy, Miami University
Mandy Feuerman, Brandeis University
Yulina Courtney Goto, Georgetown University
Gabrielle Harris, Spelman College
Kayla Hoang, University of California, Irvine
Conner Huey, Harvard University
Luke McDermott, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Anjana Murugan, George Washington University
Amanda Nogueira Moreira De Souza, Macalester College
Christopher Oueis, University of South Florida
John Paculdo Koenigshofer, University of California, San Diego
Charles Petrik, University of Oregon
Juliette Rhinow, Gettysburg College
Isabella Rocha, University of Rochester
Kelly Stevenson, Bowdoin College
Cali VanCleve, Rhodes College
Mielad Ziaee, University of Houston

Notably, eight chapter institutions have a Service Scholar for the first time.

In celebration of their achievements, each 2024 scholar will receive a $5,000 undergraduate scholarship and will participate in an educational conference held in Washington, D.C., providing them with invaluable training, mentorship, and opportunities for reflection on pathways to active citizenship.

For more information about the scholarship and links to individual biographies of the recipients, please visit pbk.org/KeyintoPublicService.


About The Phi Beta Kappa Society

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at over 290 colleges and universities in the United States, nearly 50 alumni associations, and over 700,000 members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit www.pbk.org.