Scroll to Content

Latest News

How One University Tries to Make Its Teaching Training Stick

How One University Tries …

Andrea Aebersold, from the UCI Division of Teaching …
Read More
DTEI Winter Newsletter 2019

DTEI Winter Newsletter 20…

To view in your browser, click here. Winter …
Read More
Invited presenter Dan Levy and Teachly software

Invited presenter Dan Lev…

Using data and technology to teach more effectively …
Read More
DTEI Unveils New Learning Glass

DTEI Unveils New Learning…

The recent installation of a Learning Glass at …
Read More
UCI hosts STEM Education Research Conference: SABER West

UCI hosts STEM Education …

On January 19-20, 2019, the UCI Student Center …
Read More
A Sign of UCI’s Continued Investment in Student Success: The New Anteater Learning Pavilion

A Sign of UCI’s Continued…

After nearly two years of construction, the Anteater …
Read More

Calendar

About DTEI

The Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation (DTEI) is dedicated to partnering with faculty, graduate students, and postdocs to maximize students’ academic success. We accomplish this by cultivating exceptional learning environments across campus through pedagogical development opportunities focused on integrating innovative, evidence-based teaching practices. DTEI’s goals align with the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning (OVPTL) and Pillar 2 and 4 of the UCI Strategic Plan:

  1. Enhance pedagogical training for faculty, graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and staff by providing and developing certification, teaching assistant training, and fellowship programs.
  2. Partner with campus researchers to collect and disseminate data on evidence-based practices that the campus community can use to improve student success.
  3. Promote the effective utilization of digital technologies by the UCI community to foster teaching innovation and enhance student face-to-face and online learning.
  4. Coordinate efforts to systematically align campus learning environments with current and emerging educational practices to maximize student success.
  5. Evaluate the impact of DTEI programs and campus learning environments on both students and instructors, utilizing assessment data to further improve teaching and learning on campus.

 

OUR STAFF

Brian Sato

Brian Sato

Interim Associate Dean for DTEI, Associate Teaching Professor, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
PhD, Cell Biology
bsato@uci.edu
(949) 824-0661
Andrea Aebersold

Andrea Aebersold

Director, Faculty Instructional Development
 
PhD, English
andrea.aebersold@uci.edu
(949) 824-0347
Daniel Mann

Daniel Mann

Director, Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Scholar Instructional Development
PhD, Cognitive Science
dmann@uci.edu
(949) 824-0117
Mathew Williams

Mathew Williams

Principal Analyst, Learning Environments and Technologies
 
EdD, Educational Leadership
mathew.williams@uci.edu
(949) 824-3717
Adrienne Williams

Adrienne Williams

Director, Teaching and Learning Research Center
PhD, Biology
adriw@uci.edu
(949) 824-8691
Megan Linos

Megan Linos

Director, Learning Experience Design & Online Education
M.S., Instructional Technology
wlinos@uci.edu
(949) 824-9405
Iain Grainger

Iain Grainger

Director, UCI Media and OVPTL Communications
B.A., Communication Processes
grainger@uci.edu
(949) 824-7331
Lorraine Villegas

Lorraine Villegas

Administrative Assistant
 
B.A., History
lvillega@uci.edu
(949) 824-3594
Kameryn Denaro

Kameryn Denaro

Project Scientist
PhD, Computational Science
kdenaro@uci.edu
(949) 824-1398
Janet Divincenzo

Janet Divincenzo

Instructional Designer
M.A., Latin American Studies
jdivince@uci.edu
(949) 824-1058
Rica Young

Rica Young

Instructional Designer
M.A., Educational Technology
ricay@uci.edu
(949) 824-3809
Jocelyn Liu

Jocelyn Liu

Digital Learning Coordinator
B.A., Education Sciences
jocelyl7@uci.edu
(949) 824-2886
Matthew Mahavongtrakul

Matthew Mahavongtrakul

Postdoctoral Scholar
PhD, Biological Sciences
mmahavon@uci.edu
Mayank Verma

Mayank Verma

Program Coordinator
B.A., Film and Media Studies
mayankv@uci.edu

Joy Jia

Joy Jia

Web Designer
M.S., Information Sciences
xjia2@uci.edu
(949) 824-1372
Florentina Duquin

Florentina Duquin

Events & Operations Coordinator
B.A., History
duquinf@uci.edu
(949) 824-7889

Hai Truong

Hai Truong

Marketing Strategist, Summer Session
B.A., English
hai.t@uci.edu
(949) 824-4653