Scroll to Content

Latest News

Invited presenter Dan Levy and Teachly software

Invited presenter Dan Levy and Teachly software

Using data and technology to teach more effectively and inclusively The School of Education and the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation invites you to join Harvard Senior Lecturer Dan Levy as he presents a new type of teaching software he has developed. Presentation: Tuesday, February 5 9:30 – 10:30 …
Read More
DTEI Unveils New Learning Glass

DTEI Unveils New Learning Glass

The recent installation of a Learning Glass at the Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation (DTEI) has faculty jumping at the chance to experiment with new ways of engaging students with their videos. Prof. Quoc-Viet (QV) Pham Dang, an Assistant Professor of Teaching in the Electrical Engineering & Computer Science …
Read More
UCI hosts STEM Education Research Conference: SABER West

UCI hosts STEM Education Research Conference: SABER West

On January 19-20, 2019, the UCI Student Center will be full of faculty, postdocs, and graduate students who are interested in maximizing student success in some of the hardest courses on any college campus. SABER West is an education research conference focused on improving undergraduate learning in STEM (science, technology, …
Read More

Loading...

Calendar

Join our mailing list and be the first to know about DTEI events and news.

About DTEI

The Division of Teaching Excellence and Innovation (DTEI) is dedicated to partnering with faculty, graduate students, and postdocs to maximize students’ academic success. We accomplish this by cultivating exceptional learning environments across campus through pedagogical development opportunities focused on integrating innovative, evidence-based teaching practices. DTEI’s goals align with the Office of the Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning (OVPTL) and Pillar 2 and 4 of the UCI Strategic Plan:

  1. Enhance pedagogical training for faculty, graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and staff by providing and developing certification, teaching assistant training, and fellowship programs.
  2. Partner with campus researchers to collect and disseminate data on evidence-based practices that the campus community can use to improve student success.
  3. Promote the effective utilization of digital technologies by the UCI community to foster teaching innovation and enhance student face-to-face and online learning.
  4. Coordinate efforts to systematically align campus learning environments with current and emerging educational practices to maximize student success.
  5. Evaluate the impact of DTEI programs and campus learning environments on both students and instructors, utilizing assessment data to further improve teaching and learning on campus.

 

OUR STAFF

Brian Sato

Brian Sato

Associate Dean for DTEI, Professor of Teaching, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
PhD, Cell Biology
bsato@uci.edu
(949) 824-0661
Andrea Aebersold

Andrea Aebersold

Director, Faculty Instructional Development
 
PhD, English
andrea.aebersold@uci.edu
(949) 824-0347
Daniel Mann

Daniel Mann

Director, Graduate Student and Postdoctoral Scholar Instructional Development
PhD, Cognitive Science
dmann@uci.edu
(949) 824-0117
Mathew Williams

Mathew Williams

Principal Analyst, Learning Environments and Technologies
 
EdD, Educational Leadership
mathew.williams@uci.edu
(949) 824-3717
Megan Linos

Megan Linos

Director, Learning Experience Design & Online Education
M.S., Instructional Technology
wlinos@uci.edu
(949) 824-9405
Iain Grainger

Iain Grainger

Director, UCI Media and OVPTL Communications
B.A., Communication Processes
grainger@uci.edu
(949) 824-7331
Lorraine Villegas

Lorraine Villegas

Administrative Assistant
 
B.A., History
lvillega@uci.edu
(949) 824-3594
Kameryn Denaro

Kameryn Denaro

Project Scientist
 
PhD, Computational Science
kdenaro@uci.edu
(949) 824-1398
Janet Divincenzo

Janet Divincenzo

Instructional Designer
 
M.A., Latin American Studies
jdivince@uci.edu
(949) 824-1058
Rica Young

Rica Young

Instructional Designer
 
M.A., Educational Technology
ricay@uci.edu
(949) 824-3809
Josh Arimond

Josh Arimond

Lead Coordinator, Certificated Learning Assistants Program
M.A., Education
arimond@uci.edu
(949) 824-1134
Matthew Mahavongtrakul

Matthew Mahavongtrakul

Postdoctoral Scholar
 
PhD, Biological Sciences
mmahavon@uci.edu
Mayank Verma

Mayank Verma

Program Coordinator
B.A., Film and Media Studies
mayankv@uci.edu

Joy Jia

Joy Jia

Web Designer
M.S., Information Sciences
xjia2@uci.edu
(949) 824-1372
Florentina Duquin

Florentina Duquin

Events & Operations Coordinator
B.A., History
duquinf@uci.edu
(949) 824-7889

Hai Truong

Hai Truong

Marketing Strategist, Summer Session
B.A., English
hai.t@uci.edu
(949) 824-4653