Celebration of Teaching



UCI honors some of its outstanding instructors at the 2017 Celebration of Teaching.
Founded in 1992, to date over 300 professors, lecturers, and TAs have been recognized by their colleagues and students for exemplary teaching.

2017 Celebration of Teaching

Thursday, May 4, 2017
4:30-6:30 pm, University Student Center, Doheny Beach A&B.
For more information and nomination forms: link

Recipients of the Competitive Awards:

Professor of the Year;

  • Renee Link, Chemistry

Lecturers of the Year;

Teaching Assistant Professional Development Award;

  • Angela Jenks, Anthropology

Instructional Technology Innovation Award;

  • Brad Hughes, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Most Promising Future Faculty

  • Christopher Stillwell, Education
  • Leticia Garcia, Drama
  • Leah Zani, Anthropology

Recipients of the Dean’s Honoree Awards:

  • Claire Trevor School of the Arts – Lonnie Alcaraz
  • Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences – Brandon Gaut
  • Paul Merage School of Business – Zheng Sun
  • School of Education – Rossella Santagata
  • Henry Samueli School of Engineering – David Reinkensmeyer
  • School of Humanities – Emily Baum
  • Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Science – Alexander Ihler
  • Sue & Bill Gross School of Nursing – Miriam Bender
  • Program in Pharmaceutical Science – Sam Schriner
  • School of Physical Sciences – James Bullock and Michael Cooper
  • School of Social Ecology – Wendy Goldberg
  • School of Social Sciences – Angela Jenks


There are two categories of awards presented, the first of which is the Campuswide Awards. Recipients are selected by members of the Academic Senate Council on Student Experience and members of the groups providing the monetary awards. Selections are based on campuswide nominations from peers, colleagues, and students.

The second category of awards are for those selected by their Deans as Deans’ Honorees for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and the 2015-2016 Pedagogical Fellows selected by the Division of Teaching Excellence & Innovation.

2016 Awardees

Professor of the Year

Keith Murphy
Anthropology, School of Social Sciences


Lecturer of the Year

Amanda Holton
Chemistry, School of Physical Sciences


Instructional Technology Innovation (Co-Award)

Marcelo Wood
Neurobiology & Behavioral Sciences, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences

Mathew Beckmann
Political Science, School of Social Sciences


Most Promising Future Faculty Members

Sharon Shenhav
Psychology & Social Behavior, School of Social Ecology


TA Professional Development Award

Julie Ferguson
Earth System Science, School of Physical Science


School Honorees:

Prof. Sandy Irani, Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Science

Prof. Grant MacGregor, Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences

Prof. Drew Bailey, School of Education

Prof. Yuqing Guo, Program in Nursing Science

Prof. Nancy da Silva, Henry Samueli School of Engineering

Prof. Belinda Campos, School of Social Sciences

Prof. Jayne Lewis, School of Humanities

Prof. Veronica Vieira, Program in Public Health

Prof. German Andres Enciso Ruiz, School of Physical Sciences

Prof. Keramet Reiter, School of Social Ecology

Prof. Zheng Sun, Paul Merage School of Business

Prof. Jesse Colin Jackson, Claire Trevor School of the Arts


Pedagogical Fellows:

Pedagogical Fellows are mentor TAs who develop and implement the campus-wide TA Professional Development Program and who offer training workshops throughout the year for their peers. They will also be recognized at the ceremony for their contributions to quality undergraduate education:

School of Physical Sciences

  • Kristine Arquero, Chemistry
  • Gregory Suryn, Chemistry

Henry Samueli School of Engineering

  • Dominique Ingato, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science

School of Humanities

  • Analaura Brophy, Spanish/Portuguese
  • Simona Capisani, Philosophy
  • Andrea Milne, History
  • Jaime Roots, European Languages and Studies
  • Mary Schmitt, Visual Studies

School of Social Ecology

  • Caitlin Cavanagh, Psychology & Social Behavior
  • Janice Phung, Psychology & Social Behavior

School of Social Sciences

  • Susan Duncan, Cognitive Sciences
  • Jessica Kizer, Sociology
  • Ryan Sauchelli, Political Science
  • Mariam Ashtiani, Sociology

Program in Nursing Science

  • Michelle Chan, Nursing

Donald Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences

  • Ankita Raturi, Informatics-Software Engineering

Francisco J. Ayala School of Biological Sciences

  • Minhan Dinh, Neurobiology & Behavior
  • Manuel Ramirez, Developmental & Cell Biology
  • Andre White, Neurobiology and Behavior

School of Education

  • Brandy Jenner, Educational Policy & Social Context

Claire Trevor School of the Arts

  • Katie Turner, Drama



For an alphabetical listing of former award recipients, click here.